Nova Scotia Rainbow Action Project

In 1995, about a year after the GaeGala folded, Nova Scotians who attended a conference in Ottawa noticed that nobody could address queer issues back home. Since January 1996, NSRAP has been meeting every three months, and was officially incorporated in February of 2000.

Mission Statement: We seek to foster change in our communities and our society at large so that people of all sexual orientations are valued and included. We will achieve this through: Community Development, Networking, Outreach, Education & Political Action.



March, 2010
Towards a Home for the LGBT Community in Nova Scotia The Rainbow Community Centre Project (pdf) The excutive summary was published in the May 2010 Wayves.
December, 2015
History of NSRAP written by RebeccaRose


Announcement made regarding formation. See NsrapNeedsHelp.
February 17, 2000
NSRAP was incorporated as a non-profit society
February 12, 2005
Valentine's Dinner & fundraiser with special guest Gilles Marchildon, Exec Director of EGALE Canada. Organized by AdamDolliver?.
September 25, 2005
Fundraising Gala: "Big Gay Wedding Anniversary" with Bette MacDonald, Rev Dr. Troy D. Perry, founder of the worldwide Metropolitan Community Church. Organizing Committee: SeanForeman, BobFougere, BruceGoddard?, MichaelMazerolle?, LaraMorris?, NickyPerkins?, MariePaturel?, KimVance, DarleneYoung.
September 30, 2006
Fundraising Gala: "Coming Together" with Mark Tewkesbury. Silent Auction items donation management by DarleneYoung, board member.
2007 Board
SeanForeman (Past Chair), DarleneYoung, ElaineCraig? (Vice Chair), GastonSaulnier? (Secretary), JennNearing?, CatherineMeade, KevinKindred (Chair), HugoDann, AnnLevangie?, MattNumer?, LaurieStephensen? (Treasurer). Coordinator - CharlesHseun?, Member at large - EricMacDonald.
2010/11 Board
MattNumer?, Chair, Lisa Buchanan, Vice-Chair, Sean Foreman, Treasurer, Christine Hunt, Secretary, Kevin Kindred, Past Chair Catherine Meade, MAL, Robert Allan, Curtis Cartmill, Scott Comber, Sarah Connolly, Elaine Craig, Colin Green, Lynn Murphy, Nathaniel Smith, Lucas Thorne-Humphrey; Hugo Dann, Executive Director (Ex officio). Report: Towards a Home for the LGBT Community in Nova Scotia The Rainbow Community Centre Project (pdf) published.
2011/12 Board
Officers: MattNumer? – Chair CurtisCartmill? – Vice-Chair; DougBungay? – Treasurer; SeanForeman – Past Chair; MargaretDenike? – Member-at-large; KevinKindred – Ex-officio advisor; MeredithEvans? – Secretary. Directors: JohnBritton?, BrendaMerritt?, AlanaMurray?, RosemaryPorter, NathanSmith?, AdamSterling?, LucasThorneHumphrey?.
November 4, 2011
NSRAP signs lease for former SafeHarbour space in VeithHouse.
June 23, 2012
Annual General Meeting where the following were elected as the new Board of Directors:
KevinKindred (Chair), RosemaryPorter (Vice-Chair), MattNumer? (Past chair), Kate Shewan (Treasurer), Nathaniel Lewis (Secretary), John Britton (Member-at-Large), Jim Gouthro, Andrew Jantzen, Kate Keough, Justin Leblanc, Brenda Merritt, Alana Murray, Rebecca Rose, Nat Smith, Lucas Thorne-Humphrey
2014/2015 Board
Officers: VivianBezanson? (Treasurer), LisaBuchanan? (Past Chair), MaryBurnet?, HugoDann, KirkFurlotte? (Secretary), MarshallHaywood?, OwenJohnstone?, RobynLetson?, SusanneLitke, AdamMyatt? (Vice Chair), JennNearing? (Member at Large), GabePictou?, NolanPike?, KateShewan? (Chair).
2015/2016 Board
Officers: Chair: RebeccaRose; Vice Chair: EmilyDavidson?; Treasurer: FrankieBezanson?; Secretary: OwenJohnstone?; Member at Large: SusanneLitke; Past Chair: AdamMyatt?. BoardMembers? at Large (elected at the May Annual General Meeting): HugoDann, JoelDiamond?, KoltenMacDonell?, DoriPalmiere?, LauraShepherd?, AllisonSmith?, ArdathWhynacht?. History of NSRAP published.
May 25, 2017
Board of Directors: Craig Besaw, Sydney; Julie Hollenbach, Halifax; Keith Johnston, Sydney; Dee Morse, Truro Nivie Singh, Halifax; Seth Wahlin-Stern, Halifax
May 26, 2019
Annual General Meeting Minutes
MikaelaGorman?: 10 years experience in media/political liason/analysis. Currently working in private consultant in investigation/media. Currently working on a series of education videos in her spare time.Would hope she can help here any way she can.
StellaSamuel?: Work in non-rprofits with 2SLGBTQ/Disabilities projects. Direcrory 2SLGBTQ+ support phone line in Ontario. Areas are communications/social media/strategic connecting. Editing/writing/grant writing/reports. ; TamPham?: Grad student from Dal in Biochem. Moved here from New Brunswick. Did undergrad in Ontario. Volunteered 2SLGBTQIA+ peer support. Provideded support to youth between 13-25 in distress. Experience in working with youth. Did a lot of community building within the university. Olivia asks if Tam would be willing to participate in education committee work. Emphatic yes. Would love to open that conversation more, especially for BIPOC individuals.
JessSmith?: Currently sits on the board for Jalifax Pride. Had the education committee with them. Chaired/spearheaded major changes to be more inclusive. Runs social media, involved in the drag community as well.
SusanneLitke (re-offer): Lawyer/social worker. Works at Dal Legal Aid service as supervising lawyer. Working at Dal Legal Aid on a trans rights file, representing trans folks with any number of human rights issues. Working with a student and herself, taking complaints to the human rights commission. Been on the board for the last 5-6 years, treasurer for 3. Came on the board during the last year NSRAP had a gala.
OliviaJacquard? (re-offer) : been with board since Nov. Banker with a major bank. Member at large. Did prelim work for AGM(stepped up). Director of education for Atlantic Pride Employee Resource Group within ScotiaBank?. Would like to do more education committee work, making sure material is okay. Does work 8-4. But can do public speaking. ; MackenzieElls? (re-offer): (not present) Rae nominates in absentia. ; NorvalCollins (re-offer): Would enjoy to continue being the liaison with ElderBerries. Would like to continue doing what he can to improve the lives of the ageing. Consultant, attended meetings, even from Costa Rica. Main role is to liase NSRAP with Elderberries/seniors issues.
June 14, 2020
Annual General Meeting. The Annual Report will be made available online.
SusanneLitke - queer lawyer she/her , have been on the board for 5-6 yeas, am the treasurer. I have a lot of interst in ensuring that the education progaram continues.This is the 25th anniversary of NSRAP; it was formally made an organization in 2000.
TamPham? - I’m a Dal Grad Student in microbiology. We are trying to establish a Queer Atlantic Canadian community. I think it’s important for my home community to have a voice
NorvalCollins - I’m quite pleased to be the Elderberries rep and liason. there’s a focus on elder health care . I have an interest in the business side of things.
SebastianGakarth? - they/them. I’m a student , finishing a psych degree, starting a social work degree . I’ve done a lot of education at Mount St Vinvent in both trans and general lgbt education.
MadelineMitchell? - I’m a student, studying as an early childhoood educator, I have experience with boards and governing o=bodies and event programming
NatalieBoyd? - I work for the federal dept of immigration, I’m a volunteer co-chair for Pride At Work committee. this will be my first board!
MikaelaGorman? - in absentia.
JessicaWentzell? - self nominated. Former boardmember. I’m looking forward to re-joining. i’m a healthcare provider with an interest in the seniors project.